In the only statewide item on the ballot, voters have decided to amend the Texas Constitution to authorize the legislature to provide for a reduction of the limitation on the total amount of ad valorem taxes that may be imposed on the residence homesteads of the elderly or disabled to reflect any reduction in the rate of those taxes for the 2006 and 2007 tax years.


In the Lufkin school board election. There were three people running for two positions. Dale Ingle received 165 votes. Incumbent Larry Kegler received 554 votes, and Trent Ashby received 670 votes. It looks like Kegler and Ashby have secured those two seats on the Lufkin school board.


In Nacogdoches, there were two contested races for Nacogdoches City Commissioner. With an unofficial tally of 396 votes, Randy Johnson wins the race for city commissioner for the northeast ward position over Hunter Perry who had 322 votes.

Don Partin Jr. comes out on top for the Nacogdoches city commissioner northwest ward seat, beating Gary (Ty) Willis 133 votes to 47 votes.

One other note, some Nacogdoches residents also had to decide on the establishment of two proposed emergency services districts. Both proposals passed. That allows the creation and establishment of the Nacogdoches County Emergency Services District Number 3 and Number 4 and gives authorization to levy a tax not to exceed 3 cents per 100-dollars valuation of taxable property.


In Center, voters went to the polls to decide whether or not to have a bond referendum to build a new school, by an almost two-to-one decision, voters favored the bond referendum, 426 votes for and 216 votes against.


Your new Hemphill school board members are: Position 1 Steven Croll with 278 votes over Laurie Ladner who received 189 votes. LLoyd Ford and Tom Beall ran unopposed and will join Croll on the HISD board.


In Joaquin, out of a field of five candidates, Jay Dee Cockrell and Charles Leflett emerge winners and will serve three year terms each.

We'll have more elections results as they become available.

Voters will return to the polls in November to decide a wet/dry election. After weeks of circulating petitions, registered voters in Zavalla, Hudson, Huntington, Diboll and Burke will once again debate the issue of alcohol sales.

On November 6th, residents in those Angelina County communities will have an election to stop the sale of beer and wine in their area.