New Mayor, Incumbent Commissioners Elected

San Augustine city voters elected a new mayor on Saturday. It was a close race. Leroy Hughes

received 289 votes against his opponent Walter Hearnsberger, who gathered 250 votes.

Two incumbent commissioners who have served on the commission for 12 years were re-elected once again. Alderman, Position 1, Evelyn Watts won by a large margin against opponent, David Lawshae. Final votes were 342-195.

Alderman Position 2, Herman Wilson received 310 votes and Mollie Langford Amburn got 230 votes.