Buford T. Abeldt Sr. Appointment

News Release:

AUSTIN - Gov. Rick Perry has appointed three members to the Texas State Board of Pharmacy for terms to expire Aug. 31 2013. The board oversees the licensing and regulation of Texas pharmacists and pharmacies.

Buford T. Abeldt Sr. of Lufkin is a pharmacist and owner of Abeldt's Gaslight Pharmacy. He is a member of the Texas Pharmacy Association, National Community Pharmacists Association and the American College of Apothecaries where he serves as vice president. He formerly served in the U.S. Navy and received a bachelor's degree in pharmacy from Southwestern State College. Abeldt's Pharmacy received the 2006 Small Business of the year award from the Angelina County Chamber of Commerce.  Abeldt currently serves on the Chamber Board of Directors. Founded in 1979, Abeldt's offers many services, including diabetic processing, prescriptions, and I-V products.  The company has 21 employees.  Buford Abeldt Sr. replaces Doyle High of Austin.

L. Suzan Kedron of Dallas is a land use attorney for Jackson Walker L.L.P. She is past chair of the Executive Council of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Examiners. She is also a member of the Dallas Real Estate Council, Greater Dallas Chamber of Commerce and State Bar of Texas. Additionally, Texas Monthly magazine named her a Texas Rising Star in 2006, 2007 and 2008. Kedron received a bachelor's degree from Columbia College. She replaces Juluette F. Bartlett-Pack of Houston.

Dennis Wiesner of Austin is senior director of privacy, pharmacy, regulatory and governmental affairs for H.E.B. Grocery Co. He is president of the Texas Federation of Drug Stores, a policy council member of National Association of Chain Drug Stores and member of the Texas Pharmacy Association. Additionally, he is a member of various committees for the National Council for Prescription Drug Programs and International Association of Privacy Professionals. Wiesner received a bachelor's degree in pharmacy from the University of Texas He replaces W. Michael Brimberry of Cedar Park.