Texans Shock Cowboys

Texans 19 Cowboys 10



(Houston-AP) -- The Houston Texans are winners in their

first-ever N-F-L regular-season game, defeating Dallas 19-to-10.

The Texans joined the 1961 Minnesota Vikings as the only N-F-L

expansion teams to win their debut.

The game was tied 10-to-10 until David Carr uncorked a 65-yard

touchdown to Corey Bradford early in the fourth quarter. The Texans

clinched the victory when Seth Payne tackled Quincy Carter in the

end zone for a safety with two-37 remaining.

Carr came out firing in his first game since being the top pick

in the N-F-L draft. His first completion went for a 19-yard

touchdown just 74 seconds into the contest.

Carr was 9-for-20 for 139 yards but was sacked six times.

Michael Wiley scored the Cowboys' lone touchdown on a 46-yard

run in the third quarter.

Emmitt Smith ran for 63 yards to move closer to Walter Payton

for first on the all-time rushing list.