Four running for three seats on school board

A fourth candidate has filed for a seat on the Lufkin school board.

Robert Shy will run against incumbents Andro Branch, Cooper Castleberry and Gip Friesen.

Incumbent Lufkin City Council member Rose Boyd in Ward 2 will face a challenge from Robert Shankle.

In Diboll, incumbent Bill Brown will face Gary Mike Smith in a mayoral race. Also, incumbents Ricky Conner and Larry Cook and Lewis Ivey will vie for two spots in the city council.

At Diboll ISD, incumbents Andrea Swor and Ronnie Coleman and Dee Scarborough and Irvin McWilliams will run for two spots on the school board.

At Hudson ISD, place seven has been vacated by Laura Hebert and Kent T. Walker and Darren Smith have signed up to run for the open spot.

In Zavalla, Bill Terrell has not filed for reelection. Incumbents Carlos Guzman and Greg Fletcher have filed for reelection and Richard Brunk is the lone candidate for the third spot on the city council.

At Zavalla ISD, incumbents Craig Cryer and Carlene White have filed for reelection and face challenges for the two spots on the school board from Barry Burch and Joey Courtney.

Three candidates are running for the vacated Position Four position on Central ISD: David Gibson, Cody Parker and Donny Matthews.

All cities and school districts were accepting filing for elections until 5 p.m. Monday.

Elections will be May 9.