East Texas officials sworn in on New Year’s Day

Officials take the oath of office across the area

East Texas officials sworn in on New Year’s Day

EAST TEXAS (KLTV) - In Smith County, the district attorney’s office saw its first change in leadership since 2003 with Jacob Putman taking the oath of office on Tuesday morning.

In front of a large crowd, Putman held his right hand in the air, the other on a Bible held by his wife, vowing to serve Smith County as it’s top criminal prosecutor.

In Gregg County, former police officer Tom Watson was sworn in as District Attorney, after unseating incumbent Carl Dorrough in the primary. Also taking the oath of office, 188th District Judge Scott Novy along with former Easton Mayor Shannon Brown as Pct. 4 Commissioner.

In Nacogdoches County, former Nacogdoches Police Sgt. Greg Sowell was sworn in as county judge. Sowell leaves behind a career in law enforcement of almost 40 years, defeating incumbent Mike Perry back in May.

A new year marking a new start for elected officials across East Texas.

Copyright 2019 KLTV. All rights reserved.