East Texas athletes capture state titles at track and field meet

Garrett Nuckolls competes in the high jump at the state meet.
Garrett Nuckolls competes in the high jump at the state meet.(Bullard athletics)
Published: May. 12, 2022 at 12:32 PM CDT|Updated: May. 12, 2022 at 11:13 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

AUSTIN, Texas (KLTV) - The first day of the UIL Track & Field state championships was good to East Texas athletes.

Garrett Nuckolls of Bullard ISD started the day off by winning the 4A championship in the high jump at the state track and meet Thursday. Lindale’s Casey Poe won state in the boys 4A shot put competition. Woodville’s Linus Mannino won state in the 3A high jump competition.

Nuckolls beat out East Hammond of Lake Belton for the title.

Garrett Nuckolls of Bullard High School.
Garrett Nuckolls of Bullard High School.(Bullard athletics)

Poe beat out Quardale Patt of Stafford.

Casey Poe of Lindale
Casey Poe of Lindale(Lindale ISD)

Mannino beat out Daniel Cowan of Caldwell.

In other field events events, Ashlyn Bruce of Daingerfield placed second in the girls 3A long jump event. Caydon Coffman of Mount Vernon placed third in the boys 3A long jump. Keith Smith of Jefferson placed second in the boys 3A triple jump.

On the racing side the West Rusk 4x200 team brought home gold, beating out Breckinridge and Gunter. The team was composed of Ty’Mitchric Harper, Andon Mata, Geremiah Smith, William Jackson, Omarion Anthony and Jacob Rifkind.

Kilgore’s Matthew Tyeskie won the 4A 110m Hurdles. Tyeskie also finished third in the 300m hurdles.

In other events, Kyle Roethle of Mount Vernon finished third in the 3A 800 meter race. Newton’s Jayla Franklin finished second in the 3A 100m dash. Gilmer’s Will Henderson finished 2nd in the 4A 100m dash. Lindale’s Colton Maya finished second in the 4A 400m. Gladewater’s Kamryn Floyd finished second in the 3A 400m. Athen’s Micah Swan finished third in the 4A 1600m race.

The state meet continues Friday with 2A, 5A and the wheelchair division.

Copyright 2022 KLTV. All rights reserved.