2022 Texas state, local primary election results

Texas primary graphic
Texas primary graphic(KLTV/KTRE)
Published: Mar. 2, 2022 at 12:03 AM CST|Updated: Mar. 2, 2022 at 12:16 AM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

EAST TEXAS (KLTV/KTRE) - Final results are in for several high-profile primaries, in East Texas and across the state.

A number of races will head to a runoff election on May 24, 2022.



On the state level, Republican Gov. Greg Abbott held off his challengers, winning the race with 67% of the vote with 91% percent reporting. The next highest challenger was Allen West with 12%, closely followed by Don Huffines.

Democrat Beto O’Rourke won his party’s primary, with 91% of the vote as of 1 a.m. He and Abbott will go head to head in November.

In the race for Republican Lt. Governor, incumbent Dan Patrick held on to his position, earning 77% of the vote. Daniel Miller, in second place, received 7% of the vote with 90% reporting.

The race among Democrat hopefuls in the lieutenant governor race is not close enough to call for one candidate. At noon Wednesday, Mike Collier had 42% of the vote, Michelle Beckley had 30%, and Carla Brailey had 28%. To win a candidate must have 50% plus one vote. If that does not happen there will be a run-off. Collier and Beckley will go to a run-off.

Republican Attorney General candidates also did not have enough votes to win a majority vote. Incumbent Ken Paxton had 43% of the vote as of 1 a.m., George P. Bush had 23% and Eva Guzman had 18%. East Texas’ own Louie Gohmert was in fourth place with 17% of the vote. Paxton and Bush will move forward to the runoff on May 24.

Watch KLTV 7 News at 10.

Democrat Attorney General candidates are in the same boat. Rochelle Garza has 44% of the vote, Joe Jaworski has 20%, Lee Merritt is at 19%, Mike Fields 12% and T-Bone Raynor 5%. Garza and Jaworski will move to a runoff.

Railroad Commissioner Wayne Christian, the incumbent, did not receive 50% of the vote. He will face Sarah Stogner, who won 15% of the vote, in a runoff.

In U.S. House Dist. 1, Jrmar Jefferson had won 46% of the vote with 90% reporting; he will face Victor Dunn, who took 28% of the vote, in a runoff election to be the Democratic candidate.

With 71 percent of the vote counted, Jefferson looks to be headed to a runoff against Victor Dunn.

The Republican candidate for US House Dist. 1 will be Smith County Judge Nathaniel Moran, who had won 63% of the vote with 90% reporting Tuesday night.

As of 11:15 p.m., Moran had 64 percent of the vote.

Incumbent Pete Sessions won U.S. House District 17, earning 70% of the vote.


In the race for State House Dist. 5, Incumbent Cole Hefner took 81% of the vote to retain his office.

In State House Dist. 6, Incumbent Matt Schaefer of Tyler kept his office, as well, with 89% of the vote.

Republican Travis Clardy retained his position in State House Dist. 11, taking 53% of the vote, beating challengers Rachel Hale, Greg Caldwell, and Mark Williams.

State Rep. Travis Clardy said East Texans acquitted themselves very well in the March 1 primary elections with a higher voter turnout percentage than the state


In Angelina County, Incumbent Judge Don Lymbery lost his role as judge to challenger Keith N. Wright. Wright took 67% of the vote, at 6,352 to 3,170.

Cass County Judge (R) was called for Travis Ransom, who earned 3,135 votes to Mike Lee’s 1,316 votes, earning him 70% of the vote.

Cherokee County Judge (R) went to Chris Davis, with 73% of the vote, or 4,227. Challenger Dean Dublin took only 27%, with 1,546 votes.

Scott Lee retained his office as Franklin County Judge, with 1,741 votes, 73% of all votes, to defeat Kathy Lovier, who earned 644 votes.

In Panola County, District Attorney Danny Buck Davidson is headed to a runoff with Tim Cariker. Buck had 49% of the vote, while Cariker took 30%.

Panola County will also have a runoff between county judge candidates Paul Beatty (32%) and Roger G. McLane (31%).

Panola County voters elected a new sheriff. R.C. Cutter Clinton won 54% of the vote, beating incumbent Sheriff Sarah Fields 2,789 to 2,409.

Shelby County Judge Allison Harbison kept her position, beating Phil Worsham 2,556 (65%) to 1,352.

In Smith County, longtime JP Pct 1 Quincy Beavers was unseated by Derrick Choice, who took 58% of the vote. Beavers has been JP Precinct 1 for nearly 30 years.

A new county judge will take the bench in Van Zandt County in January. Andrew Reese won 55% of the vote, beating Judy Morris Bell and BW Ferris.

Wood County District Attorney Angela Albers retained her seat, taking 68% of the vote over Jim Wheeler.

Wood County Judge Lucy Hebron was unseated by Kevin White. White took 55% of the vote, beating the incumbent 4,212 to 3,459.

To see a complete list of 2022 primary election results, CLICK HERE.

Copyright 2022 KLTV/KTRE. All rights reserved.